Review: Tuesdays With Morrie

With the busy holiday weekend, I am a day behind when I wanted to make this post, but I figure it is better late than never! Plus, I am still getting the hang of this “schedule” idea. I finished reading Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom a couple of weeks ago. It was a very short book, so this may be a short review.

This is the story of a dying old man and his thoughts on life as he tells it to Mitch. If you couldn’t tell by the name, this is a true story. Mitch was once a model student, and he liked to think he modeled himself after his favorite teacher, Morrie. When he graduated, he promised to keep in touch, but eventually life caught up to him and they never spoke. Then one day, while surfing channels on the television, he stumbles across a story about Morrie. He’s dying. Mitch flies out to see him, and then spends every Tuesday helping to write their “final thesis.” They talk about everything, from the best day to marriage. I think it goes without saying that Morrie passes away, but Mitch learns everything he wanted to know about life and death.

I am sort of a softie. So I guess it goes without saying that I teared up a little. Morrie is a very sweet old man, and in some ways he reminded me of my own grandfather, whom I lost five years ago.

There are some great ideas in this book. Don’t dwell on the little things. Enjoy family and friends. Live life to the fullest. Don’t fear death. While I found some of them improbable for this day and age, the moral stands true. For instance, Morrie often tells Mitch that he spends too much time working and dwelling on keeping up with the Jones-es. It’s true that many of us are too concerned with material things, but he seemed to give Mitch too hard of a time. While Morrie is sitting on his death bed, he can see what is truly important in life. For those that are still living, and may live for a long time, we need to be concerned with having enough money to survive. I can see it both ways.

This book is similar in many ways to Albom’s other novel, The Five People You Met in Heaven. I liked that one as well, but it tends to get a little preachy. In the end, Tuesdays With Morrie is a touching story. I give it a 7 out of 10. I recommend picking it up. It is a very quick read at around 200 pages. It is very sweet, but be prepared to be a little sad at the ending.

2 thoughts on “Review: Tuesdays With Morrie

  1. Great review – short and to the point . I know Mitch Albom from ESPN. I actually had no idea that he had written anything outside the realm of sports. You learn something new every day I suppose.

Leave a Reply

