A Little Snafu

Well, here is my first “Tuesday Breakdown,” as I am calling them. And look… it’s being posted on a Tuesday!

So, recently, I have been rolling along, finishing books left and right. I am listening to audio books in the car, as well as reading some nights before going to bed. I have also been able to listen to audio books at work, since my type of job enables me to both listen and do my work efficiently. It really helps me work quickly and prevents me from falling asleep! In addition to the obvious benefits, I can finish more books, most of which are new, and not on my shelf at home. This means that I won’t get bored with this project. Unfortunately, my company decided to go “iron fist” because some people were messing around, and we are all feeling the effects. That means, no more audiobooks at work for now.

Currently reading

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I am a little shy of 200 pages in to this one. I loved the movie, and so far I am finding the book very enjoyable. Would I find the book as enjoyable if I wasn’t picturing the movie in my head? I will never know. The novel is almost entirely narrative, as told by Chiyo/Sayuri (the same woman renamed). She is a young girl who is sold to a geisha house and is on the path to become a geisha herself. I am only reading a few pages a time, and I am having trouble juggling all of the millions of things I want to do in the few hours I have between work/traffic and sleep. So for now, the reading is a little slow going, and the book is rather long, around 430 pages in my edition, but I am hoping to finish it by the end of next week.

22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson. I am on disc 8 of 9 of this audio book. I listen to it on the way to and from work, or really anytime I am in the car alone. It is about a Polish family in the aftermath of World War II. Janusz left Poland and his wife Silvana to join the war effort. Silvana escapes into the forest with their son Aurek after the Germans invade. Six years pass, and they are together again in England, but the war has effected them all. The story is told in an alternating sequence. You will read about them in England, sometimes focusing on Janusz, other times Silvana, and occassionally Aurek. Then you will read about Poland, starting with when they met as teenagers and following them through their travels during the war. I like it quite a bit so far, although it is really rather sad. I am also not sure how I feel about the characters. I won’t go into too much detail here, since I imagine I will finish it in a week, and will be able to fully review it then.

Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I just started listening to this audio book at work yesterday. This is the fifth book in a popular fantasy series, so giving a very brief overview would be difficult. The narrator sounds like a stuffy old British man who is occasionally falling asleep as he reads. So far, I have only listened to the prologue and the first chapter which follows Tyrion the dwarf. In case you haven’t read this series, I don’t mean a typical fantasy dwarf. I mean just a regular person who happens to be small. However, the narrator reads his voice as though he is a stereotypical fantasy dwarf who has a thick Scottish accent with a hint of Irish brogue. I don’t like it. I never imagined this to be how any of the characters sounded (since the character in the prologue sounds the same), not to mention the television show, which will be airing a second season next year, has them all as English. Because of the whole work thing, I am not even sure when I will be able to finish this. I was originally waiting to pick it up in paperback, so I may just have to do that.

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard. Another audio book that has been shelved for now. I only listened to approximately 5 minutes, but I can already say, that I am not eager to continue it. Emma and Sutton are twins who have never met. And just when they are about to, Emma discovers that Sutton is dead. Sutton is narrating the story about how Emma pretends to be her to find out how she died. Too bad the narrator has an obnoxious voice, because the plot sounds semi-interesting.

Read this year and awaiting Review

  • World of Warcraft: Stormrage by Richard Knaak
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  • Long Day’s Journey Into Night by Eugene O’Neill
  • The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler
  • Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern
  • The Filter Bubble by Eli Pariser

I am now starting a backlog of books I need to review, and I included some books I have read this year (clearly not inclusive). This will continue to be the case if I only post my reviews on Sundays. I may have to work something out there, but I suppose it is nice to have some piled up just in case I fall behind on my ready. Which, thanks to my inability to listen to them at work, may just happen soon enough.

Leave a Reply

