What’s a schedule?

Second week in, and I have already fallen off my idea of a schedule. I thought about writing my review on Sunday, and told myself it needed to be done. I started a draft last night, telling myself I was already behind and to just get something out there. I like the concept of a schedule, but the actual practice just doesn’t sit well with me. I am doing this for fun, and to take time to relax, but when I place myself under constraints, I am making it into another job. I already have a job, one that is rather tedious and stressful already, so I don’t want another one that doesn’t even pay! Not to mention, that by forcing myself to stick to a schedule, my writing almost suffered the consequences.

I do, however, like the idea I came up with about my Tuesday Breakdown. It just might not always fall on a Tuesday. Last week was a bad week, but because I am not sure who reads this exactly, I am going to keep my complaints to myself and my poor husband. Over the weekend, I decided to treat myself to some retail therapy. I bought quite a few nice sweaters in preparation for the winter. Of course, now my work office has cranked up the heat, but at least I look stylish! James also bought me a new mouse and keyboard, mostly for gaming, but I love the typewriter sound my keyboard is making as I write this. As I went to set up my new computer components, the desk that I have been complaining about finally fell apart. So new desk this week! Not to mention that sewing machine I have been wanting to buy so that I can start making scarves. I love shopping, but I am thinking after those two purchases we need to focus on saving again, especially with the holidays around the corner.

Recently Finished Reading

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I just completed it today. It took me longer than I hoped, but I did it before my anticipated goal of the end of this week. This book will be my next review, although I am thinking about finding the movie and doing a comparison. There aren’t too many differences between the two, but it would be interesting to take a closer look into how I feel about each one and which I might prefer.

22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson. I finished this early last week, not long after my last breakdown post. It was interesting, although probably not a favorite of mine. The audio book narrator was pretty good, so it was enjoyable, but not spectacular. Since this was a book I picked up at the library, and not a book from my list, I will be waiting to review it until after Memoirs is posted, unless I decide to do the book to movie idea.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling. I am not sure what number time this reading was, but I once again teared up at the end. I was at work, so I controlled myself, but it amazes me that some books can still mean something to you no matter how many times you read/listen to them.

Currently Reading

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. Moving on to the final audio book. In a way, it seems like I am preparing for the release of the Blu-ray this week. Needless to say, I am excited about that, but also a little sad to be almost completely done reading them, even if it is for the fourth or so time. Does this mean I need to go through them again? I keep toying with the idea of writing an in depth analysis of each book, or an in depth comparison of the books to movies. That might require a lot of time, but something I will continue to look into.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. Ever since reading the NPR’s list of Top 100 fantasy and science fiction books, I have been dying to read something by Gaiman. I wish they would have broken the list apart, 100 fantasy, 100 sci-fi, since I feel they are completely different genres, but I digress. Gaiman’s most touted book is American Gods, which I am looking to read, but while at the library I found this one. It is a more modern fantasy type novel, and not typical in any way so far. The audio book is being narrated by Gaiman himself, and I love it. Currently, I am on disc 4 of 9 or something, so I will probably finish it by the end of next week or so.

The Epic of Gilgamesh. Keeping with the idea of reading an older, shorter novel in order to break into this library of mine, I probably picked the shortest one possible. Maybe calling it an epic is deceptive in that case. My version is about 105 pages, written in verse form, so that the words only take up about half of the page. I am sure it will be a quick read, and one that I should have read a long time ago.

Books Put on the Back Burner

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I fell out of love with his series after reading a terrible book four and then waiting what felt like an eternity for this one. I was patiently waiting for paperback, until I downloaded the audio book from the library. As I said in my last breakdown, the narrator is terrible. I couldn’t deal with it. So for now, it’s on my “shelf” to be picked up at a later date.

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard. Another audio book with a terrible narrator, and I am not as attached to the young adult story. I didn’t have the patience to get through the first 10 minutes. Maybe another day?

Running Tally of Books Awaiting Review

  • World of Warcraft: Stormrage by Richard Knaak
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • 22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  • Long Day’s Journey Into Night by Eugene O’Neill
  • The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler
  • Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern
  • The Filter Bubble by Eli Pariser

I better start writing some of these reviews. I am hoping to feel in a better mood soon, so that I have the desire to sit down and write after sitting at a computer all day. This week is going to be stressful at work, and I am not anticipating that to change. Maybe I will get a massage this weekend and feel relaxed after watching the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Plus, I am getting kind of excited about the holidays. Here’s hoping that the weekend comes soon…

One thought on “What’s a schedule?

Leave a Reply

