Status Monday

Early this evening, I was really excited to post. And now, as I stare at the screen, preparing to write my review of The Golden Compass, my mind goes blank. I suppose that’s a Monday for you. Although, I find Tuesdays to be worse. So rather than forgoing posting altogether, I thought I would post a status update of my current reads.

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott – So, I may have thought that this book was related to Harry Potter. And I was wrong. Don’t I feel sheepish to find out that Flamel was indeed a real person, and that the myth of the Philosopher’s Stone is well know outside the world of Hogwarts. Well, I figured it out about 5 pages in to this book. The story follows twins Sophie and Josh as they get pulled into an adventure with the alchemist. Flamel protects the Book of Abraham the Mage, but when it is stolen (along with his wife), the twins must help him recover it.

I borrowed the book from the online library on my Kindle, but I have actually taken a break from reading it. Despite the popular reviews, I just can’t get interested. I have this thing with books that “name-drop” popular people or items, and this book gives me the same vibe. It would be another series I would have to finish, and so far, I am not willing to make that commitment.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa – At the same time I checked out the above book, I picked this one up as well. The idea sounded interesting. Of course, upon opening the digital book, I see the words “Harlequin Teen,” and I begin to question my choice. I do not know if the teen version is similar enough to the adult Harlequin, but so far, I haven’t run into it. After a horrible birthday, Meghan Chase finds out her half-brother has been replaced by a changeling, and she must rescue him from the world of the faeries.

I am not usually into the whole faery idea in fantasy literature, but for some reason, I decided to give it a try. So far, I am liking it. Meghan finds herself in the world of Midsummer Night’s Dream, literally, and I like the way the author plays with it so far. It is also a rather quick read, so I should be finished with it by the end of the week.

The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials, Book 2) by Philip Pullman – I will post my review of the first book soon, but I think it is rather obvious that I enjoyed the first if I am picking up the second. After listening to the audiobook of the first novel in this series, I had to pick up this one. It is the same cast, and I am really enjoying listening to it. Unlike the first novel, where we just followed Lyra for the most part, this one tells us the point of view of many characters, particularly the new boy, Will. Will sets out in search of his father, only to come across Lyra. They must help each other in order to both get what they need.

I don’t want to give too much away, since it is the second in a series. I will say that while it picks up where the first left off, it is so far a good stand alone novel. I am excited to get in the car and listen to it again.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson – I have checked out an audiobook from the online library of a novel I have been longing to read ever since picking up my first Sanderson novel. I haven’t had much time to listen to it, so I am not far along, but the premise is amazing. His stories are so brilliantly new, complex, and different, that I am going to let the book description speak for itself:

“For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. ”

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson – While reading this amazing blog post, a commenter pointed to Sanderson’s website, where he offers one of his novels, Warbreaker, for free! It is in PDF format, and easily transferable to a Kindle (and legal). As soon as I finish The Iron King, I will be turning to this. In fact, I am really tempted to read it first!

Once again, the book description: does it so well “The story of two sisters, who happen to be princesses, the God King one of them has to marry, the lesser god who doesn’t like his job, and the immortal who’s still trying to undo the mistakes he made hundreds of years ago. Their world is one in which those who die in glory return as gods to live confined to a pantheon in Hallandren’s capital city and where a power known as BioChromatic magic is based on an essence known as breath that can only be collected one unit at a time from individual people. By using breath and drawing upon the color in everyday objects, all manner of miracles and mischief can be accomplished. It will take considerable quantities of each to resolve all the challenges facing Vivenna and Siri, princesses of Idris; Susebron the God King; Lightsong, reluctant god of  bravery, and mysterious Vasher, the Warbreaker.”

As for the rest of my life, I fell a little short on my January goals. I definitely didn’t exercise as much as I would have liked, didn’t post twice a week, and only started two sewing projects (completely finishing one). It hurts to fail so quickly (and epically) but I would like to think January was a great success for me. My “wake up” goal was well achieved. We play with the dogs every night and have been doing more things out and about. I read 9 books last month. That’s pretty darn good. We planned and booked our honeymoon, finally. It isn’t until the middle of March, but I can’t wait to go on a cruise. I got a promotion (kind of two, actually) where I am given a lot more responsibility and work load. It means being tired and a little more stressed out, but I am hoping it can mean better things for my future.

Up next, a review of The Golden Compass (I promise).

So what are you reading right now?

One thought on “Status Monday

  1. Great post. I wish had the ability to read/listen to multiple books at a time and not get things jumbled. As someone who has only seen the movie version of Golden Compass, I look forward to reading your review of the novel.

Leave a Reply

