Reading Update

My reading and writing have both been suffering lately. I have only finished one book and two audiobooks in the past month. And my lack of reading means uninspired writing. What’s the issue? I have been neck deep in a classic… and it’s a doozy.

My book club decided to tackle some heavier reading, and our Russian member (and dear friend) suggested Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky. We have all been pushing through it for the past month. I have 100 more pages to go by our meeting on Tuesday. It isn’t that the book is bad, it’s that I have lost interest. The writing is all over the place, and it seems to lack any real direction. Despite this, I am glad my book club chose it, since I would never have finished the book without them. I am almost ready to check this classic off my list!

I am currently listening to the audiobook Dreams of Joy by Lisa See. It is the follow-up book to Shanghai Girls. I am finding the book relatively entertaining. I also enjoy the way she works in historical aspects of China. I still find Snow Flower and the Secret Fan much better than either of these novels.

At the end of last month I finished Room by Emma Donaghue. I probably shouldn’t have gotten this in audio format since the story is told from the point of view of a 5 year old boy. Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson was a better reading choice, however. The way he creates stories is unlike any author I know. As soon as I finish Crime and Punishment, Sanderson’s novel Mistborn will be the first one I pick up.

I am sad there is not more on my reading list this past month, but I hope to soon rectify that. Maybe this is a good example of why not to force yourself to read a book you do not enjoy. Have you ever had this problem?

One thought on “Reading Update

  1. I can’t imagine Room being easy to digest aurally. If I find a book that is a slog I just start to break it down and say I’ll read x number of chapters this week and spread it out rather than force myself to try and finish it. I know your book group is applying the pressure point which is definitely good for me too sometimes!

Leave a Reply

