Reading to Write (when I have time)

There are many different stereotypes for stay-at-home mothers, but the one that now makes me laugh is thinking they have all the free time in the world. Right now, my son is two months old. If he’s awake, he usually wants to be held. If he is playing, he needs constant supervision. If he is sleeping, it is either on me (where he sleeps the longest) or he still needs watched, since he is picky about where he sleeps (and we have two 80 pound dogs who are relatively curious). What this leaves me with is a few hours a day to do things without him. This time is usually taken up by showering, eating, and doing what I can (quietly) around the house. Things will get better as we get on a schedule and he gets older, but for now it leaves me with very little personal time.

I feel like I should be using this personal time to write (my book mostly), but when you get those few precious moments, all “should”s go out the window. I check Facebook, read news/blogs, or look for apps on my iPad to help me start writing (pure procrastination right there). But lately, I have finally begun to read again!

Toward the end of my pregnancy, I was so exhausted, I would come home from work (and an hour in traffic) and lay on the couch and watch television. The past two months have been so busy: those first few hectic weeks of c-section recovery, constant visitors, and adjusting to being a mother. I never found time to read. Now, I am starting up again, and I know it will help me start writing.

Here is what I have been reading this past week.

Maus by Art Spiegelman

20130529-100057.jpg Maus is a graphic novel that won the Pulitzer Prize. My husband and I were at the local comic book store last week. We picked this up, and I finished it in a couple days. Art tells his father’s story about how he survived World War II and Auschwitz, with mice representing the Jews and Nazis as cats. His father’s story is such an amazing one that I would have read it without the comic representation.

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

20130529-101041.jpg Re-ignighting my love of Young Adult literature, I thought I would give this a try. I downloaded a lot of samples on my Kindle of YA novels, and many sound very interesting. Fortunately for this book, it was free from my library. I am only about a fourth into the book, but I am interested to see what all the hubbub is about. Unfortunately, if I like it, it means I need to add another series to my “to-read” list.

Not only have I begun reading again, but I am also reading to my son. We have started a schedule, and in it includes book time. He is too young to know what I am saying, but I like the idea of getting him started young, plus I think he really likes the colors. Our friends and family have given us some classics (Corduroy, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish), but I read him one the other day that made me cry. I had read it before, but when reading it to my own son, it was too much to handle: Love You Forever by Robert Munsch. I might have to put that one back on the shelf for awhile.

6 thoughts on “Reading to Write (when I have time)

  1. It’s nice to see that you’re taking the time to read books again because it’s so easy to Facebook that time right out of existence. I love MAUS. One of the things that I think makes the book so successful is that its central metaphor, which seems so reductive at first, actually opens up our understanding of the workings of the Holocaust, especially in those places where the metaphor is at its most strained.

    • It’s true, Facebook is a time sink. I would delete it if it wasn’t for the fact that some of my family members only communicate this way.

      I agree totally about Maus. What I found amazing was that it took a serious subject matter, made it not so serious, but still heartbreaking. In fact, I find it hard to explain my feelings about it!

  2. Good luck! Staying home with my children was exhausting. Returning to my hectic office after my maternity leaves felt like a reduction in duties (boy, did I miss my little girls, though!). I did manage to write the majority of my MS during my leave, but only after my husband got home from work and took over the night duties.

    • I wish more people with regular jobs understood what goes into being a stay-at-home parent! My husband gives me breaks in the evening as well, but sometimes I find myself just staring at my son, because I can’t stand to be away from him at this stage.

  3. I hear you! Being a stay at home mom is so much work. Since my husband and I could afford it, we’ve had Liam in daycare a couple of days a week just so I could get a break. It definitely saved my sanity. (I was so stressed out as I never really saw myself as the stay at home mom type anyways.) We started that when my son was four months, before he could become so attached to me that I would never be able to leave his side. With my son, as he got older, I found that he needs even more attention as he always wants to play with me… or climb on me. 🙂 I’d read whatever I was reading to Liam when he was that age. (He doesn’t really understand much of what you’re saying at that point anyways. That doesn’t start until around 6 months or so, if I remember right.)

    I’ve wanted to read Beautiful Creatures. Did you know they are making a movie?
    Enjoy the moments you get to yourself!

    • Yeah, I do worry about him becoming so attached that he never wants to go to anyone else. I am starting to see it when others hold him, he still stares at me!

      I think they already made a movie of Beautiful Creatures, but I haven’t seen it. Sometimes those movies are so cheesy (like Twilight)!

Leave a Reply

