Weekly Update

During the height of my blogging here, I was reading a lot. My stats on Goodreads show that I read 38 books in 2011 and 50 in 2012. Granted, some of these were audiobooks, but I was nearing a book a week. Last year, that number dropped to 21, nearly half of which were graphic novels. I know the reasons for the drop: I stopped listening to audiobooks completely, and for months I stopped reading altogether. I was tired. I had just given birth in March, and my time became more and more consumed by my son. Obviously, this brought a whole new level of joy, but I missed reading. At the end of 2013, I began making time for reading again. It helped that my son began going to bed around 7 – 8 pm and sleeping through the night. So far in 2014, I have already read 10 books, only one of which was a graphic novel.

I would love to reach a book a week. There are so many books on my shelves that I need to get through, so many new releases I would love to grab, and so many good books out there just waiting for me. I’ll keep trying to attain it, but I won’t be so hard on myself if I can’t. I blog about my son daily, and I am working on building up to a daily schedule here, so there might be less time for reading. This could turn out to be a good thing at first, since I have a really significant backlog of books to review. In fact, I am adopting the rule my husband suggested: no picking up a new book until I have written a review. I’ll adjust it a little.

I am not allowed to read a new book until I have completed a review of the last one and one in  my backlog.

Now that I’ve caught you up on the past year I’ve been gone, let’s focus on this past month or so. I went a little crazy on the library website.

Books Completed

words of radianceWords of Radiance. What an epic novel, both in size and content. It is the second novel in the Stormlight Archive series, set to be ten novels. Brandon Sanderson became my favorite author after I read the first book in this series. It was the first book of his I ever read; that’s how much I liked it. But before I can review this one, I need to review Way of Kings, so look for that within the next couple of weeks.

 

fifty-shades-of-greyFifty Shades of Grey. Yes, I read it. Sadly, not just this one either, but the whole trilogy. After completeling the dictionary of a book above, I needed something light. Fluff, if you will. This fit the bill, and satisfied my curiosity. I really hate when a lot of other people are talking about a book that I haven’t read. I feel really out of the loop, no matter how terrible I know the book will be, especially when there is about to be a movie version. Although, I cannot fathom how this can translate into a movie that is rated anything below NC-17. I grabbed all three e-books from the library and read them in about a week total. I am starting to wonder if that says more about the books or me. I should have my review completed for publishing next week.

gone girlGone Girl. As another book people cannot stop talking about, I jumped at the chance to read it when there was actually a copy available from the library. I finished it last night, and I am still working through how  I feel about it. I am hoping that by the time I sit down to write my review, I’ll have figured it out.

 

 

Currently Reading

the-selection-kiera-cass-largeThe Selection. I read one page of this book last night before remembering my new rule. I am looking forward to reading this as it has gotten decent reviews in the YA community.

 

 

 

Looking Ahead

My goal for the coming week is to complete my reviews of Fifty Shades and Way of Kings so I can “legally” begin reading again. I can usually finish a good YA novel in a few days, so I hope to complete The Selection as well. However, before doing so, I should really complete my review of Gone Girl, as well as some other interesting posts. I am coming up with some new and exciting ideas on ways I can write my reviews. I need something that sets me apart from other reviewers, particularly since I am not always writing about fresh and new books.

What book(s) are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

